1. Support Center
  2. Employee Settings

Employee sign-out message

What are employee sign-out messages and how are they used?

Require employees to leave a sign out message

When 'Require employees to leave a sign-out message’ is enabled, *ALL employees will be required to leave a sign-out message or select a return time to sign out. This applies to both the iPad and Android tablet apps, as well as the mobile Pocket app.

To enable 'Require employees to leave a sign out message'

Navigate to 'Settings' > 'Employees' and click on the checkbox 'Require employees to leave a sign out message' to enable.

*Please note: if subscribed to a multi-location Enterprise account, location settings are applicable on this page. Click here to find out more about location settings.

Once 'Require employees to leave a sign out message' has been enabled, employees will be required to select a preset message or input a custom message, or select a return time when signing out from the iPad or Android tablet.


How to add preset messages

Navigate to 'Settings' > 'Employees' and, under 'Sign out messages', to the right of your screen, click on 'Add Message' button and input the messages. Once complete, click on the 'Add' button to apply this message for employees to select from when signing out via the iPad, Android tablet or Pocket app. 


How to select from a preset sign-out message (iPad & Android tablet)

Once the employee sign-out messages have been entered, these can be set against an employee's name when signing out from the iPad or Android tablet.

To select a preset sign-out message: 

  • Tap on the Employee in & out button. 

  • Locate the name of the employee to be signed out and slide the 'In' status from the left to the right to show as 'Out'.

  • Once toggled to 'Out', the screen will display the sign-out message option.

  • Select a preset saved message and/or select a time returning and tap on 'Confirm'.

  • The 'Signed out' screen will appear for the employee to confirm sign-out was successful.

How to select from a preset sign-out message (Pocket app)

To select a preset sign-out message:

  • Swipe the arrow left to sign out.

  • Select a preset saved message.

  • Select a time returning, if applicable, and tap on 'Sign Out'.

  • The 'Signed out' screen will appear for the employee to confirm sign-out was successful and returns to the sign-in screen.


How to set a custom sign-out message (iPad & Android tablet)

Instead of selecting a preset message when signing out, the employee can also input a custom message when signing out, if their reason for leaving does not fit into one of the preset message options. 

To input a custom sign-out message:

  • Tap on the Employee in & out button. 

  • Locate the name of the employee to be signed out and slide the 'In' status from the left to the right to show as 'Out'.

  • Once toggled to the 'Out' status, tap at the top of the screen in the text field that shows ‘Enter a status message’. 

  • Input the message and tap 'OK'.

  • The custom message will appear as a ‘Saved Messages’ option that is already selected. Now select a returning time and tap on ‘Confirm & Sign out’.

  • The 'Signed out' screen will appear for the employee to confirm sign-out was successful.

*Please note: the ‘Save for next time’ option when setting a custom status will automatically be selected. To ensure this option does not show up as a saved reply again when that employee signs out, deselect by tapping on the checkbox.

How to set a custom sign-out message (Pocket app)

To input a custom sign-out message:

  • Swipe the arrow left to sign out.

  • Next to the status message is a plus icon. Tap on this to open the custom message text box and enter the custom message.

  • Select the 'Include in default list' if you'd like to select this option again in the future and tap 'Next'.

  • Select a time returning if applicable and tap on 'Sign Out'.

  • The 'Signed out' screen will appear for the employee to confirm sign-out was successful and returns to the sign-in screen.